User Name
Password

Go Back   Planetarion Forums > Non Planetarion Discussions > Programming and Discussion > Hardware and Tech Support

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 29 Oct 2002, 13:30   #1
Gayle29uk
Bitch
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 3,848
Gayle29uk is just really niceGayle29uk is just really niceGayle29uk is just really niceGayle29uk is just really nice
Latest in the saga of my Linux router project...

It works \o/

Got everything working fine as a router/DHCP server but moving onto the next stage things have gone downhill again

I've installed Apache and the PHP4 module but every time I try to access a PHP page my browser (konqueror on the local system, IE on the remote) asks me if I want to download the file. Obviously I DON'T want to download it, I want Apache/PHP to pre-process it and send it to me as a webpage. The PHP app declarations are there in the httpd.conf file and the Apache test page shows the PHP4 module as present (as does rcapache start) yet it obviously isn't doing it's job.

Any suggestions gratefully received
Gayle29uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 29 Oct 2002, 13:48   #2
Allfather
The PropaGhandi
 
Allfather's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 796
Allfather is infamous around these partsAllfather is infamous around these partsAllfather is infamous around these partsAllfather is infamous around these partsAllfather is infamous around these partsAllfather is infamous around these parts
stop trying to do something you got no clue about,and go back to what you know..
__________________
Free imagehosting: Link
Free scans: #transcendancy

<Deffeh> I just told my parents im a homosexual, now they kicked me out
Allfather is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 29 Oct 2002, 13:56   #3
Gayle29uk
Bitch
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 3,848
Gayle29uk is just really niceGayle29uk is just really niceGayle29uk is just really niceGayle29uk is just really nice
Quote:
Originally posted by Allfather
stop trying to do something you got no clue about,and go back to what you know..
I've never set Apache up before, especially not with the PHP modules so I freely admit I know nothing about it. I would like to learn though
Gayle29uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 29 Oct 2002, 15:13   #4
MT
/dev/zero
Retired Mod
 
MT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 415
MT is an unknown quantity at this point
Quote:
Originally posted by Allfather
stop trying to do something you got no clue about,and go back to what you know..
Go away you horrible little troll.

Gayle: have you set up apache to use the PHP module and/or added -DPHP4 to the apache startup command?
__________________
#linux : Home of Genius

<idimmu> ok i was chained to a desk with this oriental dude
MT is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 29 Oct 2002, 20:54   #5
NEWSBOT3
NEWSBOT
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: The enby cave!
Posts: 4,872
NEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriendNEWSBOT3 needs a job and a girlfriend
Quote:
Originally posted by Allfather
stop trying to do something you got no clue about,and go back to what you know..
MT, make the nasty troll go awah.

puwwweeeeezzzz
__________________
[20:27:47] <nodrog-aawy> **** i think my housemate just caught me masturbating
[11:25:32] <idimmu> you are a little piggy arent you
[13:17:00] <KaneED> i'm so closet i'm like narnia
__________________
Pretty parks and funky scrap metal things here
NEWSBOT3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 30 Oct 2002, 02:13   #6
Gayle29uk
Bitch
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 3,848
Gayle29uk is just really niceGayle29uk is just really niceGayle29uk is just really niceGayle29uk is just really nice
Quote:
Originally posted by MT


Go away you horrible little troll.

Gayle: have you set up apache to use the PHP module and/or added -DPHP4 to the apache startup command?
Okay...

On Slidey's advice I went to www.apachetoolkit.com and downloaded their install script. All the relevant source RPMs downloaded and installed fine, the make etc went fine, PHP 4 is installed as a module in apache. httpd -l | grep php shows the module is there and I've even tried starting it with -DPHP4 yet it still does the same thing, opens the file for download

.php is defined in httpd.config as the relevant mime type and I'm really fed up with this now

Anyone got a suggestion or a working php.config/httpd.config I can borrow? I'm almost certain it's a config error because the version I compiled earlier is totally different to the one with the distro and even installs itself in a different place.
Gayle29uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 30 Oct 2002, 10:16   #7
Slidey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 205
Slidey is an unknown quantity at this point
grab me on irc and ill give you a working one from an apachetoolbox setup i used..
__________________
#linux - home of idiots

#impulsed - home of genius..?
Slidey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 30 Oct 2002, 13:12   #8
Vaio
Heh, Leeds !
 
Vaio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: In The Redfern
Posts: 3,790
Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.
Re: Latest in the saga of my Linux router project...

just athought

go here

www.e-smith.org and grab their disto, php and apache come with it. I used it successfully for over a year as an adsl router. Total no brainer to use, and even allfather could install it once he has the cd the right way up

Vaio
__________________
The George Harrison of BlueTuba

Yes, I know he is dead !
Vaio is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 30 Oct 2002, 14:11   #9
Gayle29uk
Bitch
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 3,848
Gayle29uk is just really niceGayle29uk is just really niceGayle29uk is just really niceGayle29uk is just really nice
Well I got some help from a UV member who told me to create a file with <? phpinfi(); ?> in my wwwroot directory and waddya know it works.

When he tried to access the bcalc when I gave him the URL that worked too, just not for me.

So, I moved the bcalc into the wwwroot and now it works fine, I just can't have anything in a subdirectory.

Weird...
Gayle29uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 30 Oct 2002, 14:15   #10
Cocaine
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Re: Latest in the saga of my Linux router project...

Quote:
Originally posted by Vaio
just athought

go here

www.e-smith.org and grab their disto, php and apache come with it. I used it successfully for over a year as an adsl router. Total no brainer to use, and even allfather could install it once he has the cd the right way up

Vaio
You dont need to sign your name at the bottom of every post. We can see who made it.
  Reply With Quote
Unread 30 Oct 2002, 16:24   #11
BesigedB
Darling
 
BesigedB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 890
BesigedB is a glorious beacon of lightBesigedB is a glorious beacon of lightBesigedB is a glorious beacon of lightBesigedB is a glorious beacon of lightBesigedB is a glorious beacon of light
i am rebellious and use the cvs php for the sake of it
__________________
..
BesigedB is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 30 Oct 2002, 17:12   #12
Vaio
Heh, Leeds !
 
Vaio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: In The Redfern
Posts: 3,790
Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.Vaio has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.
Re: Re: Re: Latest in the saga of my Linux router project...

Quote:
Originally posted by Cocaine


You dont need to sign your name at the bottom of every post. We can see who made it.
I do it to annoy people who tell me that

Vaio
__________________
The George Harrison of BlueTuba

Yes, I know he is dead !
Vaio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2013