User Name
Password

Go Back   Planetarion Forums > Planetarion Administration > Planetarion Help Desk

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 7 Apr 2018, 15:39   #1
[DDK]gm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 860
[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of
Battle Calc Problems (Firefox)

This seems to be browser specific and probibly caused by an update but see if anyone else is having this issue and a solution.

Browser: Firefox Quantum 59.0.2 (64-bit)

Problem:

(tab1) Go to galaxy screen
(tab1) AU planet
(tab1) Add to bcalc > New
(tab2) Save bcalc - everything is fine, can add as many fleets as i like from tab1...

(tab1) right click on galaxy and open in new tab
(tab3) click on A to scan a planet
(tab3) click on Add to bcalc > Last active bcalc.... nothing, no focus on last active bcalc.

now, i expect people to say "don't open in a new tab, just use one tab" but this is the same if someone gives you a scan link that opens in a new tab, it wont focus on last active bcalc.... you can get it to work if you take the url and put it in the original tab.

So it seems that a bcalc created in Firefox is tied to a parent tab, if you don't have that parent tab then you cant add to last active bcalc.

Reasons you may not have that parent tab may be restarted browser (calc from night before), gotten the bcalc from someone else (defense team).

is it just me?? :P
__________________
R4-5 DDK
R6 Vanx
R7-R10 FAnG
R10 Eclipse
R10.5-R13 FAnG
R20-23 CT
R23 (CT BG) ToF
R24-R75... CT
[DDK]gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 7 Apr 2018, 17:00   #2
[DDK]gm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 860
[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of
Re: Battle Calc Problems (Firefox)

Support replied
bcalcs "add to last" is a cookie, it stores the last rn or id from the bcalc. it expires after like 10 min (i think). It has no "link" to the parent tab of the game in any way, it's all to the bcalc. The bcalc looks for any ship/fleet data set for it every 2 sec, so that might be failing for you too, like the browser blocking it because it's a constant rechecking

-----

So any help on resolving this?

Anyone else see the same issue with firefox?
__________________
R4-5 DDK
R6 Vanx
R7-R10 FAnG
R10 Eclipse
R10.5-R13 FAnG
R20-23 CT
R23 (CT BG) ToF
R24-R75... CT
[DDK]gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 7 Apr 2018, 17:05   #3
Ultramar
:)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 107
Ultramar will become famous soon enoughUltramar will become famous soon enough
Re: Battle Calc Problems (Firefox)

I have the same issue. Using Firefox, I can't use the 'add to last calc' links as it doesn't do anything.
Ultramar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 7 Apr 2018, 17:07   #4
[DDK]gm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 860
[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of[DDK]gm has much to be proud of
Re: Battle Calc Problems (Firefox)

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1450199
__________________
R4-5 DDK
R6 Vanx
R7-R10 FAnG
R10 Eclipse
R10.5-R13 FAnG
R20-23 CT
R23 (CT BG) ToF
R24-R75... CT
[DDK]gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11 Apr 2018, 17:53   #5
Paisley
The brother of Spammer
 
Paisley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Paisley - Scotland
Posts: 2,298
Paisley is a name known to allPaisley is a name known to allPaisley is a name known to allPaisley is a name known to allPaisley is a name known to allPaisley is a name known to all
Re: Battle Calc Problems (Firefox)

yer I had the same issue had to use IE to DC
__________________
Missing Subh (r15-r18)
Paisley is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11 Apr 2018, 20:54   #6
Pit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 125
Pit is a glorious beacon of lightPit is a glorious beacon of lightPit is a glorious beacon of lightPit is a glorious beacon of lightPit is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Battle Calc Problems (Firefox)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paisley View Post
yer I had the same issue had to use IE to DC
*shudder*
Pit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 18 Apr 2018, 09:31   #7
BloodyButcher
Propaganda Chief
 
BloodyButcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Under the Rainbow
Posts: 4,659
BloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud of
Re: Battle Calc Problems (Firefox)

I use firefox, and im not having this issue btw.
__________________
RainbowS

RB Ely MISTU Angel Fusi0n 1up ToF VisioN CT FAnG ROCK
BloodyButcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 Apr 2018, 19:31   #8
RexDrax
Knightly Protector
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Avalon
Posts: 582
RexDrax is a glorious beacon of lightRexDrax is a glorious beacon of lightRexDrax is a glorious beacon of lightRexDrax is a glorious beacon of lightRexDrax is a glorious beacon of lightRexDrax is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Battle Calc Problems (Firefox)

Yeah I am having the same issue GM.

Anyone found a solution yet? And no I am not going to use IE! Does chrome have this issue?
__________________
TGV Ex-HC
-No I am not suffering from insanity. I am enjoying every minute of it.


Est Sularus oth Mithas
My Honour is My Life, My Life is My Honour
RexDrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 19 Apr 2018, 21:54   #9
Pit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 125
Pit is a glorious beacon of lightPit is a glorious beacon of lightPit is a glorious beacon of lightPit is a glorious beacon of lightPit is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Battle Calc Problems (Firefox)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RexDrax View Post
Anyone found a solution yet?
From the link above, it looks like it's fixed in Firefox nightly. So yes, but it may take a while to filter through.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RexDrax View Post
Does chrome have this issue?
Doubtful. It's a browser issue, so it would make sense to be browser specific. No-one seems to have reported it on Chrome.
Pit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 20 Apr 2018, 08:03   #10
BloodyButcher
Propaganda Chief
 
BloodyButcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Under the Rainbow
Posts: 4,659
BloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud ofBloodyButcher has much to be proud of
Re: Battle Calc Problems (Firefox)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pit View Post
From the link above, it looks like it's fixed in Firefox nightly. So yes, but it may take a while to filter through.


Doubtful. It's a browser issue, so it would make sense to be browser specific. No-one seems to have reported it on Chrome.
I think its a issue with windows firefox actualy.
Firefox for linux seems to work fine, atleast for me.
__________________
RainbowS

RB Ely MISTU Angel Fusi0n 1up ToF VisioN CT FAnG ROCK
BloodyButcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2018