User Name
Password

Go Back   Planetarion Forums > Non Planetarion Discussions > Programming and Discussion > Hardware and Tech Support

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 30 Jan 2009, 15:52   #1
Androme
☆ ♥ 
 
Androme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,489
Androme can only hope to improve
Logonui.exe fkd up :o

I got Vista Ultimate w/ SP1. Anyway, I replaced logonui.exe with a custom one from wincustomize and it has fkd up. It does the boot process fine but when it comes to loading the login screen, all i see is a black screen, i can move the mouse around but I can't login.

It comes up with a lil dialog box saying logonui.exe has had to shutdown or something. Then it fails to ever load the logon screen.

What to do :/ I've tried looking around google, but chkdsk /r and chkdsk /f and chkntfs have all failed as has /sfc thingy.

Thanks all
__________________
R3: LegioN (came #32) || R4: BlueTuba
R5: WolfPack Order || R6: Wolfpack
R7: Fury
----------retired-------
R52-R55: Apprime
R56-R57: FaceLess
R58-60: Apprime/Ultores
Androme is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 30 Jan 2009, 15:59   #2
Phil^
Insomniac
 
Phil^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,583
Phil^ spreads love and joy to the forum in the same way Jesus wouldPhil^ spreads love and joy to the forum in the same way Jesus wouldPhil^ spreads love and joy to the forum in the same way Jesus wouldPhil^ spreads love and joy to the forum in the same way Jesus wouldPhil^ spreads love and joy to the forum in the same way Jesus wouldPhil^ spreads love and joy to the forum in the same way Jesus wouldPhil^ spreads love and joy to the forum in the same way Jesus wouldPhil^ spreads love and joy to the forum in the same way Jesus wouldPhil^ spreads love and joy to the forum in the same way Jesus wouldPhil^ spreads love and joy to the forum in the same way Jesus wouldPhil^ spreads love and joy to the forum in the same way Jesus would
Re: Logonui.exe fkd up :o

did you back up the original before replacing it.
Can you get to a recovery console

have you tried *copying the original one back* through said console

have you considered that a repair install will also fix it?

have you learned your lesson about cocking about with system files in an already flaky operating system
__________________
Phil^
Phil^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 17 Feb 2009, 12:00   #3
MrLobster
Commander in Briefs!
 
MrLobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 783
MrLobster has much to be proud ofMrLobster has much to be proud ofMrLobster has much to be proud ofMrLobster has much to be proud ofMrLobster has much to be proud ofMrLobster has much to be proud ofMrLobster has much to be proud ofMrLobster has much to be proud ofMrLobster has much to be proud of
Re: Logonui.exe fkd up :o

Its not a flaky operating system, its flaky drivers, and most people forget that and just blame the OS. Remember that XP had the same problems when it came out.

I've been using Vista for about 2 years and i've had crashes like everyone else. No OS is perfect, because no human is perfect. But with everything it gets better.

But then since I bought the PC, i've had to RMA the motherboard, and even now i'm waiting on news from XFX about my now broken gfx card. So in all fairness it probably was a flaky system to begin with.
__________________
<Kila> WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WITH MY PRECIOUS FORUMS
<Zeyi> 24h forum closure
<Zeyi> all posts recalled

"he's got a proven track record when it comes to showy art composition" - Tommy

<Sigi> Light: can I ask u how many open internet-windows u always have?
<MrLobster|PM> i have 2, the pa page, and the website for naked light pictures
<Ave> both has bad gfx
MrLobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2013