User Name
Password

Go Back   Planetarion Forums > Non Planetarion Discussions > Programming and Discussion > Hardware and Tech Support

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 25 Sep 2007, 19:49   #1
midge5
mmm lambs
 
midge5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,905
midge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better place
Building a new pc

So this is my first attempt at doing this so before I go ahead and buy anything i was wondering if someone could have a quick check of the parts to see if it will all work okay etc...


Antec Sonata II Case in Piano Black with 450w aPFC PSU £70.49


Asus P5KC, iP35, S 775, PCI-E (x16), DDR2/DDR3 1066/1333/667/800, SATA II, SATA RAID, ATX £79.30


250 Gb Western Digital WD2500JS Caviar SE, SATA300, 7200 rpm, 8MB Cache, 8.9 ms £40.60


256MB XFX 8600GT Fatal1ty, PCI-E(x16) Mem 1700MHz GDDR3 GPU 620MHz 2xDL DVI-I/HDTV Heat Pipe Cooling £101.04


2GB (2x1GB) CorsairTwinX XMS2, DDR2 PC2-6400 (800), 240 Pins, Non-ECC Unbuffered, CAS 5-5-5-12 £51.28


Intel Core 2 Duo E6750, S775, 2.66 GHz, 1333MHz FSB, Conroe Core, 4MB Cache, Retail £102.99 £121.01


From my old pc I can take over a keyboard / mouse / cd/dvd rw / floppy drive / 250gb external HD / sound card / monitor


I don´t have huge budget but is there anything I should perhaps change? It will mainly be used for games (Total War, Civilisation, FM etc..) DVDs, music, net, office stuff, etc...


With the processor, is it worth paying £50 extra for the
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850, S775, 3.0 GHz, 1333MHz FSB, Conroe Core, 4MB Cache, Retail

or even changing to
AMD AM2 Athlon 64 6000 + Dual Core 3.0GHz, 2x 1MB Cache, Retail (I realise I would need to change motherboard then though) as I used to like AMDs a lot but heard that in the new set of chips Intel are far better to get.

With the motherboard as well, it seems to have decent upgrade possibilities but I know bugger all about them sorts of things so any help would be appreciated.
__________________
I drink therefore I am

Last edited by midge5; 26 Sep 2007 at 22:34.
midge5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 25 Sep 2007, 22:44   #2
sale
Bavarian Barbarian
 
sale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bayern! Wos sunst?
Posts: 235
sale is a glorious beacon of lightsale is a glorious beacon of lightsale is a glorious beacon of lightsale is a glorious beacon of lightsale is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Building a new pc

i would never ever take a onborad graphics gard, as you said you wanna play games...

with a onboard crad you will not have much fun, i can promise that, perhaps you think of buying one...
( there are a few cards with very good performance which are cheap )
__________________
Now at home in CT
Former:1up,[NoS],[]LCH[] Lets change history
KnowItAll
sale is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 25 Sep 2007, 23:45   #3
midge5
mmm lambs
 
midge5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,905
midge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better place
Re: Building a new pc

Yeah that was a screwup in my pasting. When I changed the motherboard I accidentally edited out the graphics card (which is why the post originally had two motherboards in heh).

Changing the first post now.
__________________
I drink therefore I am
midge5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 26 Sep 2007, 20:19   #4
Marv
Jazz Man
 
Marv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,494
Marv is a jewel in the roughMarv is a jewel in the roughMarv is a jewel in the rough
Re: Building a new pc

More ram for gaming.

1gb isn't enough, have at least 2.
__________________
Marv

Ex ROCK HC & PA Team Head of Support.
Marv is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 26 Sep 2007, 22:33   #5
midge5
mmm lambs
 
midge5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: London
Posts: 1,905
midge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better placemidge5 single handedly makes these forums a better place
Re: Building a new pc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marv
More ram for gaming.

1gb isn't enough, have at least 2.

Heh thank God you noticed that. I had originally picked 2gb but noticed it wasn´t in tock, must have misread the 1gb 2*512 as 1gb*2.

Changed.
__________________
I drink therefore I am
midge5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 28 Sep 2007, 18:53   #6
All Systems Go
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London
Posts: 3,348
All Systems Go has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.All Systems Go has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.All Systems Go has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.All Systems Go has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.All Systems Go has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.All Systems Go has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.All Systems Go has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.All Systems Go has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.All Systems Go has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.All Systems Go has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.All Systems Go has ascended to a higher existance and no longer needs rep points to prove the size of his e-penis.
Re: Building a new pc

Might be a bit obvious, but don't forget to buy a case to put it all in and make sure it all fits.*

*no, your old PC case with the side missing is not acceptable.
__________________
The 20th century has been characterised by three developments of great political importance. The growth of democracy; the growth of corporate power; and the growth of corporate propaganda as a means of protecting corporate power against democracy.
All Systems Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2002 - 2013